Department of Economics Leadership Change

Departmental News

Posted: June 30, 2021

Dean Mark Peceny of the College of Arts & Sciences at UNM has appointed Professor Janie Chermak to serve as the next Chair of the Department of Economics; her two-year appointment begins August 1, 2021. Professor Chermak previously served as Chair from 2012-2016.

Associate Professor Brady Horn has also been appointed as Associate Chair for the Department of 2021-2023. Professor Robert Berrens steps down as Department Chair (2016-2021 and 2008-2012); he will return to his faculty position, where he was recently announced as a Regents Professor for the College of Arts & Sciences at UNM.