Skip to main content
Economics Faculty

Economics Faculty

Economics Faculty welcome you!

Department of Economics

Check Out Our Graduate Program!

Welcome Letter from the Chair

Graduate Seminar Schedule

Department News


Assistant Professor Ben Jones, Professor Robert Berrens and their co-authors had their paper, "Inclusive Non-Market Valuation in Coupled Human and Natural Systems (CHANS): A Motivating Theory", accepted for publication at: Journal of Environmental Economics and Policy

Assistant Professor Sarah Stith and her co-authors had their paper, "Reported Effects of the SRTR 5-Tier Rating System on US Transplant Centers", accepted at: Transplant International

Phd candidate Alyssa Latucchie presented her research requirement paper at the 15th Annual RMSAWWA/RMWEA Student Conference at Colorado School of Mines yesterday and was awarded 3rd place in oral presentations, which included a $200 cash prize.

Economics Phd candidate Siobhan Yilmaz and associate professor Brady Horn and their co-authors had their paper, "An economic cost analysis of an expanding multi-state behavioral telehealth intervention," published in: Journal of Telemedicine and Telecare.

Economics PhD candidate Elmira Kalhor (PhD Civil Eng.) and assistant professor Vanessa Valentin (UNM Civil Eng.) had their paper, "Cost estimation framework for optimal retrofit planning to mitigate residential building vulnerability to wildfire," published in April 2018 in: Journal of Construction Engineering and Management (and designated as "Editor's Choice" article).

José Bucheli Penafiel, current PhD Candidate in the Economics Department, has been awarded "Graduate Employee of the Year 2018" by The Center For Teaching and Learning department.

Michael Guarino, Fall 2017 graduate of UNM Economics, will be continuing his studies in the Applied Econometrics and Data Analytics program offered through the Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics at the University of Arizona.

Abraham Maggard, Spring 2018 graduate of UNM Economics, will be continuing his studies at Georgetown University Law Center.

Jack Hodge, Spring 2018 graduate of UNM Economics, will be continuing his studies at University of Colorado School of Law.

Michael O'Donnell (UNM BBER and 2018 UNM Economics PhD) and Professor Robert Berrens had their article, "Understanding falling municipal water demand in a small city dependent on the declining Ogallala Aquifer: case study of Clovis, New Mexico," accepted for publication in: Water Economics and Policy

UNM Extended Learning has announced that the Online Course Advisory Council’s Best Practices Certification will be awarded to:
Cristina Reiser, Lecturer III, for ECON 106 - Introductory Microeconomics
David Dixon, Lecturer III --ECON 303 - Intermediate Macroeconomics


Current Doctoral Candidate Joaquin Rubalcaba has just accepted an Assistant Professor position with the Department of Public Policy, at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

2010 UNM Department of Economics PhD graduate Bishwa Koirala has just been promoted to the associate professor with tenure at the Department of Economics and Decision Sciences, School of Business, UNC at Pembroke. He is also the Director of Economics and Business Research Center at the School of Business. Professor Bohara was his dissertation advisor.

Former UNM Department of Economics 2000 PhD graduate, Therese Grijalva has just been named a 2018 Presidential Distinguished Professor at Weber State University. Professor Berrens was her dissertation advisor.

Assistant Professor Ben Jones had his sole-authored paper, "Willingness to Pay Estimates for Wildfire Smoke Health Impacts in the US using the Life Satisfaction Approach," accepted for publication in: Journal of Environmental Economics and Policy.

Congratulations to University of New Mexico's, Luisa F. Sanchez-Carrera, is the recipient of the 2018 Frieda Sanidas Leason and Bernard V. Leason European Union Scholarship Fund. Ms. Sanchez-Carrera is a senior undergraduate studying Economics and International Studies. She will be using this $2500 grant to further her studies in the EU this summer under the Schloss Dyck program. Congratulations, Luisa!


Assistant Professor Kira Villa has been awarded a UNM Research Allocation Committee (RAC) grant, for her project: "The intergenerational health impact of early life climate variability and its implications for child recovery from natural disasters: Evidence from Indonesia."

Assistant Professor Sarah Stith has been awarded a UNM Research Allocation Committee (RAC) grant, for her project: "PTSD & Cannabis: Benefits & Risks."

This past December, a group of interdisciplinary students from The University of New Mexico traveled to Nepal, where they learned to pronounce Siddharthanagar and focused on awareness initiatives as part of the Himalayan Study Abroad Program. UNM Students Help Citizen Science Initiative in Nepal

Janak Joshi (PhD Candidate) has accepted a Visiting Assistant Professor with the Department of Economics at Central Michigan University.

Chris Erwin (PhD Candidate) has accepted a Post Doctoral Fellow position by Auckland University of Technology, Auckland, New Zealand.

Jose Bucheli (PhD Candidate) has accepted a Visiting Research Fellow position with the Center for Mexican-American Studies at University of California-San Diego.

Soumi Roy Chowdhury (PhD Candidate) has accepted a position as an Associate Fellow by the India National Council of Applied Economics Research (NCAER), New Dehli, India.


Assistant professor Ben Jones and his co-author Shana McDermott had their paper, “The Economics of Urban Afforestation: Insights from an Integrated Bioeconomic-Health Model” accepted for publication at  the Journal of Environmental Economics and Management.

Mohammad Ali (PhD Student)  Kira Villa (Assistant Professor), and Janak Joshi (PhD student), who had their paper, "Health and Hunger: Nutrient Response to Income Depending on Caloric Availability in Nepal", accepted for publication in: Agricultural Economics.

Graduate Seminars

All Seminars are located in the Economics Dept, Room 1002 from 3:00p - 4:30p. Speakers and dates are subject to change.