Skip to main content

People

Department Chair

Robert Berrens

Photo: Robert Berrens

Professor, Chair of Economics

Email: 
rberrens@unm.edu
Office: 
ECON 1019B

Professors

Alok Bohara

Photo: Alok Bohara

Professor, Graduate Director

Email: 
bohara@unm.edu
Office: 
2023C

Janie Chermak

Photo: Janie Chermak

Professor

Email: 
jchermak@unm.edu
Office: 
ECON 2008

Philip Ganderton

Photo: Philip Ganderton

Professor, Senior Associate Dean of Arts and Sciences

Email: 
gandini@unm.edu
Phone: 
(505) 277-3046

Kate Krause

Photo: Kate Krause

Professor, Dean, University College & Honors College

Email: 
kkrause@unm.edu
Phone: 
(505) 277-9302
Office: 
Suite 180, University Advisement and Enrichment Center

Richard Santos

Photo: Richard Santos

Professor, Undergraduate Director

Email: 
santos@unm.edu
Phone: 
(505) 277-2107
Office: 
ECON 2030

Christine Sauer

Photo: Christine Sauer

Professor, UNM Presidential Teaching Fellow, & Director of the International Studies Institute

Email: 
sauer@unm.edu
Office: 
ECON 2028

Jennifer Thacher

Photo: Jennifer Thacher

Professor

Email: 
jthacher@unm.edu
Office: 
ECON 2006

Robert Valdez

Photo: Robert Valdez

Professor, Ph.D. Associate Director of the Office of Community Health, RWJF Professor of Family Community Medicine & Economics

Email: 
ROValdez@salud.unm.edu
Phone: 
(505) 272-2165

Associate Professors

Melissa Binder

Photo: Melissa Binder

Associate Professor

Email: 
mbinder@unm.edu
Office: 
ECON 1006A

Matias Fontenla

Photo: Matias Fontenla

Associate Professor

Email: 
fontenla@unm.edu
Office: 
ECON 2003

Brady Horn

Photo: Brady Horn

Associate Professor

Email: 
bhorn@unm.edu
Office: 
ECON 2023B

Assistant Professors

Benjamin Jones

Photo: Benjamin Jones

Assistant Professor

Email: 
bajones@unm.edu
Office: 
ECON 1022

Xiaoxue Li

Photo: Xiaoxue Li

Assistant Professor

Email: 
lix@unm.edu
Office: 
ECON 2004

Sarah Stith

Photo: Sarah Stith

Assistant Professor

Email: 
ssstith@unm.edu
Office: 
ECON 1006B

David van der Goes

Photo: David van der Goes

Assistant Professor

Email: 
dvandergoes@unm.edu
Office: 
ECON 2005

Kira Villa

Photo: Kira Villa

Assistant Professor

Email: 
kmvilla@unm.edu
Office: 
ECON 1046

Jingjing Wang

Photo: Jingjing Wang

Assistant Professor

Email: 
wangj@unm.edu
Office: 
ECON 2010

Lecturers

Claudia Fuentes

Photo: Claudia Fuentes

Lecturer

Email: 
claudiadf@unm.edu
Office: 
ECON 2002

Cristina Reiser

Photo: Cristina Reiser

Lecturer

Email: 
creiser@unm.edu
Office: 
ECON 1024

David Dixon

Photo: David Dixon

Visiting Lecturer

Email: 
ddixon@unm.edu
Office: 
ECON 2026

Research Professors

Richard Bernknopf

Photo: Richard Bernknopf

Research Professor, Director of the Science Impact Laboratory for Policy and Economics (SILPE)

Email: 
rbern@unm.edu
Office: 
ECON 1013

Lee Reynis

Photo: Lee Reynis

Research Professor

Email: 
lreynis@unm.edu
Phone: 
(505) 277-2216

Professor of Practice

John Fleck

Photo: John Fleck

Professor of Practice, Director of Water Resources

Email: 
fleckj@unm.edu
Phone: 
(505) 277-0124
Office: 
ECON 1044

Emeritus

David Brookshire

Photo: David Brookshire

Emeritus, Distinguished Professor

Email: 
brookshi@unm.edu
Office: 
1006 C